Blogging

10 Day Writing Blogger Challenge: Day 2

10 day writing blog challenge, day 2Day 2 Prompt: Make 10 Writing Related Confessions

Today’s writing blogger challenge prompt might be a hard one. I am sitting here racking my brain and not coming up with more than one or two. So, here’s what I’m going to do: Let it simmer. I am going to simply leave my Word doc open and run back to write these down as I think of them.

Hopefully I’ll have come up with ten by the time I need to post this. Otherwise, I may end up posting a partial list –OR- using the alternative prompt, which is to take a blogging break for the day. Nah, I’m not taking a day off!

Okay, here’s my list:

  1. I often check Facebook, play Bejewled Blitz, and watch YouTube videos when I should be writing. But you probably already guessed that about me.
  2. If you could pick up one of my notebooks and read what comes out of my head without my inner editor present, you would cringe. I am a writer, but not a speller. Nor a grammar girl.
  3. I have not read most of the classic novels that other writers seem to have all read.
  4. I had never heard of show vs. tell before I entered my Masters program in creative writing. Then, I kept hearing professors and classmates go on and on about it, and I was apparently doing a lot of telling in my writing. I looked it up online, but I still didn’t get it. Finally, a classmate explained it to me in a way that I could comprehend. It was the same thing with active vs. passive voice. That’s what I get for doing my undergrad work in business.
  5. I do not like Jane Austen or Charles Dickens. Tomas Hardy’s Tess of the d’Urbervilles is more my speed. I can relate to her kind of people. In fact, that is one of only a couple of books that has ever been able to pierce my steel-plated heart and make me cry. True story.
  6. Mark Twain is my secret celebrity crush.
  7. Sometimes I opt for small words rather than bigger ones because I don’t know how to pronounce some big words (example: pedagogy,) and I am afraid I will one day have to read my work aloud to a crowd that will laugh at me for pronouncing pedagogy incorrectly.
  8. I probably shouldn’t admit this in my blog, but I usually don’t read half the blog posts I link to in my “Related Articles” section. I just don’t have that kind of time.
  9. I often comment on other people’s posts without giving them as much thought as I should. This then results in me making foolish comments that I never would have made if I had given the post my full attention. Making a fool of myself in public is kinda “my thing.”
  10. I secretly believe that I am going to “make it big” someday. Sure, I struggle with fear and self-doubt like any other writer. And maybe it’s egotistical of me, but I have this feeling that someday I am going to write something that’s going to be a huge hit. But first I have to actually finish a project for once!

OK, so I don’t know for sure if these are all writing related enough. But this is what I came up with finally. What’s your darkest writing related confession?

NOTE: The 10 Day Writing Blogger Challenge is open until November 2013, so feel free to join in the fun. If you decide to answer this same prompt on your blog, I would love to read it. Please post a link to your blog post in the comments below.

~Mandy Webster

2 thoughts on “10 Day Writing Blogger Challenge: Day 2”

Leave a comment