I fancy myself a writer.

How to fall in love with a reader: Part Three

Cover of “The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss

Since my first post, I have now added “The Name of the Wind” to my original list of favorite books. Not sure how I forgot this one!

And finally, the third and final part of my how to fall in love with a reader Q&A series:

  1. Do you ever read self-help books? Yes
  2. What’s a book that shocked you? The ending of Gone Girl shocked me and pissed me off.
  3. If you could force every person you know to read one book, what would it be? I wouldn’t do that because there is a different “one book” out there for every person I know. I might think one friend needs one particular book, while a different cousin or sister needs to read another one. Well, maybe all of you Americans out there should go read The Handmaid’s Tale considering the candidates we have to choose from so far in our next presidential election. Can we please get one candidate this time who isn’t a fundamentalist of some sort? Why do we think Christian extremism is okay, but Muslim extremism is not?
  4. What book would you recommend to me in particular? You, as in my reader: Since you’re here, I’m guessing you’re somewhat of a writer. So I think you might get some use out of Stephen King’s On Writing. I choose that one because it’s written in such a way that I think any would-be writer will “get it.”
  5. What books/authors have you been meaning to read for years? Why haven’t you read them yet? There are still several Mark Twain books that I haven’t read yet. I just haven’t had time.
  6. What kind of book do you consider “a guilty pleasure?” Trashy romance novels.
  7. Has a book ever changed your mind about something? I’m not sure, but a few books have definitely opened my mind. The Book of Night Women is one. That definitely opened my eyes to just how much our history of slavery is whitewashed (literally) here in the U.S.
  8. If you were terminally ill, what book or books would you read? Probably not The Fault in Our Stars or anything like that. If I would want to read at all, I’d probably pick something adventurous that I could escape into and forget about what I’m going through even if just for a little while.
  9. Do you have any passages of poetry or prose committed to memory? Can you recite something to me?Four score and seven years ago, our forefathers brought forth upon this continent a new nation, conceived in liberty and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.” That’s it. That’s all I got. I told you I have memory issues.
  10. If you could change anything about the way you read, what would it be? I wish I had more time to read. Sometimes I also wish I could go back to a time before I was so educated on what “good writing” looks like that it has ruined a lot of books for me that I would have otherwise loved. It’s hard to shut off that critic’s voice once it takes up residence in your head. I blame her for the fact that it’s been almost two years since I’ve read a book that I thoroughly enjoyed. That’s probably also why I like a trashy romance novel once in a while. The critic knows they’re supposed to be horribly written, so she goes off and takes a nap and leaves me to it.
  11. Was there any time in your life when you felt as if a book guided you in a profound way? I read Writing Down the Bones right at the beginning of my professional writing program, and it kind of set the tone for me as a writer for the next few years.
  12. Return to the list you made at the beginning. What titles, if any, would you change after our conversation? It just occurred to me that I forgot about The Name of the Wind (Patrick Rothfuss). I’m not sure which title I would switch it out for, though. No other titles have come to mind since I answered that question.

And that’s the end of my “how to fall in love with a reader” series. So let me ask you: Do you love me now? Should I sit back and wait for the marriage proposals to come pouring in?

Want to join in on the fun? You can find the full list of questions here. Answer these on your own blog, and then feel free to come back here and share a link to your post.

3 responses

  1. Oh, Im joining in the fun alright.

    April 23, 2015 at 5:31 am

Leave a Reply

