Biking, Cooking, Health and Fitness

Take care of yourself

Yoga Class at a Gym
Unlike this picture, my yoga class takes place in a daycare room at the rec center. They have to shove all of the kids’ toys up against the wall to make room for us! | Yoga Class at a Gym (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started a new yoga class this week. It’s been a while. I don’t know why I quit. Two classes in, I can feel the crickle-crackle working its way out of tense muscles. I came home after class and scribbled down some poetry. I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow last night rather than tossing and turning all night in an attempt to sleep on the side that aches the least.

This morning, I could hardly wake up. I am usually awake by the time my older son leaves for school, but today he had to wake me to tell me goodbye. Then I fell right back to sleep. My alarm went off twenty minutes later, signaling me to get up and get my younger son off to school. I hit the snooze button.

It has been so long since I slept so soundly. I dreamed I got a fat envelope in the mail, full of checks with my name on them. Enough money to quit my teaching job and write full-time! Then it was time to wake up and start my day.

Why do we tend to quit the things we enjoy the most? Why do I write and write for months at a time, and then suddenly get off track? Then when I want to start again, I fight it. I put it off and put it off until I forget I wanted to do it in the first place.

I signed up for this yoga class several weeks ago. When the first night of class came along, I didn’t want to go. I had too much to do at home. But I had paid the fee, so I dragged myself out. And I enjoyed it. I can’t wait for the next class now.

One old lady in my class is so flexible, she can twist her body like a piece of warm taffy. I want to be that flexible when I’m her age. I want to take better care of myself. I want to eat more fruits and veggies and ride my bike instead of letting it gather dust in a corner of my dining room. I want to write in my journal more often and get rid of the garbage in my mind instead of allowing it to fester and get me down.

It’s not like I have to take much time away from more important areas of my life in order to do yoga two hours a week. My kids are old enough that they are okay if I leave them alone for an hour and a half to go to class two nights a week. Heck, they probably don’t even notice I’m gone until my 7-year-old needs help opening a bottle of water.

I like to think I am setting a good example for my kids when I take the time to take care of myself. I believe I am setting a good example when they see me writing at the kitchen table instead of laying around on the couch watching TV. So why do I drag my feet sometimes? Does this happen to you?

~Amanda L. Webster

P.S. You may have noticed that I am a bit addicted to creating Facebook pages. I started a new one this morning: Mandy’s Recipe Box. Check it out!

2 thoughts on “Take care of yourself”

Leave a Reply

