Poetry, Poetry by Mandy Webster

Poetry Friday: Solitary Muse

Poem written by Rolf Jacobsen located in the e...
Image via Wikipedia

For this week’s Poetry Friday, sponsored by A Teaching Life, I am sharing a poem about writing. This poem is written in the Triolet format which is structured as follows:

  • ABaAabAB rhyme scheme.
  • Often all lines are in iambic tetrameter: the first, fourth and seventh lines are identical, as are the second and final lines, thereby making the initial and final couplets identical as well.

Solitary Muse

I love these fruitful days alone,
writing words I hope will last
borrowed voices, not my own
I love these fruitful days alone.
Despotic muse controls my tone,
speaks through fingers flying fast,
I love these fruitful days alone,
writing words I hope will last.

~By Amanda L. Webster

I love this type of repetitive structure, especially for topics that require a bit of added tension. What I like best about the triolet is that you don’t always notice the repeating lines on first read. My first exposure to this form was in a poem written by one of my classmates this past semester. I read her poem a couple of times without noticing the repeating lines. So when I wrote my own, I was very interested in seeing whether the repetition was noticed by others. Did you notice the repeating lines above before I told you they were there?

Mandy

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Solitary Muse”

Leave a Reply

