I fancy myself a writer.

Look! It’s a book! An actual-factual book! #VotB #publishing & New Year’s #writingresolutions

Thanks to the U.S. Postal Service and speedy work by CreateSpace, I am starting off 2017 with a copy of my new book in hand! That’s right, folks! I received my first set of proofs for the Valley of the Bees omnibus print edition in the mail today, and I plan to ring in the new year by reviewing my proofs for errors!

It looks like a real book!

It looks like a real book!

In addition to finalizing my proofs, I am also raising the funds to implement the next step in my marketing campaign. I plan to purchase a Kirkus Review and have my novel listed with them as soon as I can come up with the cash. If you are interested in helping out an indie author/publisher, please check out my GoFundMe campaign and throw a couple of dollars my way. Each $25+ donor will receive a free signed copy of Valley of the Bees upon release (U.S. addresses only)!

As we say good-bye to 2016, many of us will be making our writing resolutions for 2017. Personally, I prefer SMART Goals (goals that are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Timely) to resolutions. After all, resolutions seem to be made to be broken! Here are my writing goals for the upcoming year:

  • Valley of the Bees proof 2Publish and continue marketing Valley of the Bees (I have a campaign plan in place, so I know exactly what I need to do and when in order to accomplish this.) Sell at least 1,000 copies this year (or 1,000,000,000 if we’re dreaming! Oh, and sell the movie rights to whoever made The Hunger Games movies, and, and, and…!!)
  • Write a first draft of my next novel by July 1. I have learned that I am totally capable of this if I stick to the same writing routine that evolved while I was writing Valley of the Bees. Now, I just have to settle on which novel idea I want to live with and work on for all of 2017!
  • Revise and come up with a complete second draft of my new novel by October 1. Easy-peasy, right?
  • Line up several effective critique partners to read and provide feedback on the new novel by October 1. That way, I can send them digital copies as soon as the second draft is ready.
  • Take a break for a few weeks while waiting for feedback and allow the novel to compost in the back of the garden while I start brainstorming ideas for the next novel.
  • Review feedback and start revising the final copy by the end of 2017.
  • Develop a publishing and marketing plan for 2018.

That’s easy enough, right? What are your writing goals for 2017? Please share in the comments below. And, if you’re interested in helping me raise funds for my Kirkus review/listing, please check out my fundraising link. If you can’t afford to donate, please consider sharing the link with your friends!

Thanks for another great writing year, and many more to come for you all!

Leave a Reply

