Novel Writing, Writers on Writing

Setting goals and reaching them late… one way or another

I always plan to write over winter break, but somehow it never happens. I work at a University that closes for almost two whole weeks the end of December. Perfect time to get some writing done, right? Apparently not!

So then January came along, and I buckled in and started writing regularly. I have been scheduling it into my day, but not giving myself too much grief if I occasionally get off track. And I must say, it has been going pretty well for me. I am writing at least three days a week (while working a full-time job and single-momming two rowdy boys in the process) and hacking out the first draft of book two of my Valley of the Bees series a few pages (and sometimes a few sentences) at a time.

My goal was 20,000 words by the end of January. Of course, that didn’t happen, but I did get close. And today – three days into February – I ALMOST made it finally. Of course, I typed the final word of the chapter I was working on, looked down at my word count, and saw this:

19,999 words toward my 20,000 word goal. Seriously?
19,999 words toward my 20,000 word goal. Seriously?

Of course! I was one word shy of my goal! Seriously?

Well, I needed to move on from writing and get on with the rest of my day. I don’t have an infinite amount of writing time, after all. There were kids to get off to school, and I needed to also get myself off to work on time.

So, what did I do? I hit my goal, that’s what:

20 thousand and ONE!
20 thousand and ONE!

Who says every single word you write must necessarily make it into your final draft?

Goal achieved!
Goal achieved!

On the bright side, at this rate, I think I might actually finish the first draft of this novel by the end of March. And even if I miss that goal by a couple of days, who cares? As long as I keep writing, it’ll get done, right?

Eventually.

1 thought on “Setting goals and reaching them late… one way or another”

  1. Absolutely the important thing is to keep writing. I set a goal for myself to finish the short story I began last year. I’m almost done with the first draft. I’m getting much better at carving out time for writing fiction.

Leave a comment