I fancy myself a writer.

What to do when you are bored with blogging

Winter sunset photo

I took this picture at my parents’ house a couple of weeks ago. This photo has nothing to do with anything. I just felt like sharing it.

I haven’t been blogging much lately. I’m kinda bored with it. I love writing, but I’m a little bored with writing about writing. How much more can I say about it at the moment?

It’s funny, I’ve been seeing a lot of this particular type of blog post in the past couple of weeks. It seems like a lot of bloggers are just bored with where their blogs are going and are making a resolution not to be so boring in the new year. If all of these bloggers are bored with blogging, I wonder how many of our followers are bored with following us? How many people are actually reading all of these blogs?

I follow several blogs myself. I try to keep up with reading most of them, but there are only a couple that I make sure I read as soon as a new post comes out. I read a lot of writing blogs for my own self-edification, but the ones I read because I want to are the ones that are simply entertaining without trying to teach me anything.

Take the Bloggess, for example. Whenever Jenny Lawson puts up a new post, I have to read that one first, before any of the other posts in my blog reader. I can almost always count on her for a laugh. She is one of the few bloggers who can literally make me laugh out loud. Even when she misses the mark, she still leaves me shaking my head in that “I can’t stop looking” kind of way.

I’m not quite sure what I want to do about my blogging boredom. I don’t want to stop blogging. I do want to start blogging on other topics other than just writing. Will those of you who come here for writing info be put off if I write on a variety of other topics? What do you think? Which of my blog posts have you found the most useful and/or interesting? Please share in the comments below.

~Amanda L. Webster

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses

  1. Do you enjoy writing or do you enjoy being a writer?

    January 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    • I enjoy writing enough to do it every day. I’m just bored with writing about writing.

      January 19, 2014 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

