Poetry, Poetry by Mandy Webster

Poetry Friday: The Cinquain

Cinquian and Cleve
Image by juliejordanscott via Flickr

In my poetry class this semester, we have discussed several different poetry forms, and I even attempted a few different forms myself. I’d like to to approach this week’s Poetry Friday with a discussion of the Cinquain form.

In researching this form, I found that there are a few different acceptable approaches to writing the Cinquain, each with its own benefits and challenges. For my poetry assignment, I researched the various types and wrote three different poems using Cinquain patterns found on the Teacher Webspace website. The following is an explanation of each individual Cinquain pattern, paired with an original poem by myself:

Cinquain Pattern 1

Line1: One word
Line2: Two words
Line 3: Three words
Line 4: Four words
Line 5: One word

My Poem:

Avery
Bouncing, running
Admires older brother
Chatters constantly, knows everything
Son.

Cinquain Pattern 2

Line1: A noun
Line2: Two adjectives
Line 3: Three -ing words
Line 4: A phrase
Line 5: Another word for the noun

Lhasa Apso EL Minja's Aisha
Image via Wikipedia

My Poem:

Lhasa Apso
Cocky, insolent
Disregarding, ignoring, exploring
Thinks he’s boss.
Alpha-male.

Cinquain Pattern 3

Line1: Two syllables
Line2: Four syllables
Line 3: Six syllables
Line 4: Eight syllables
Line 5: Two syllables

My Poem:

Girly
My baby doll
Stolen from my mother
Bestest seventh birthday present
Sister.

~Mandy

This week’s Poetry Friday is hosted by Carol’s Corner.

Share your own Cinquain poems in the comments below. I can’t wait to read them!

Leave a comment