Television

To Walk Invisible: The Brontë Sisters on PBS

Masterpiece has done it again with their new BBC movie, To Walk Invisible: The Brontë Sisters. I watched it last night on the PBS channel on my Roku, and it was so good, I had to share. Check out the trailer:

An interesting element of this story is how the sisters are pressed to move forward with their writing each time their alcoholic brother screws up. These women lived in a time when a girl’s entire future rested on how well her father, brother, or husband did. If a woman of this period got stuck with a drunk or loser of any other sort, it could ruin her entire life. Oh, wait. That still happens today!

When a man writes, it’s what he’s written that’s judged. When a woman writes, it is her that is judged.

It just goes to show how hardship can be an excellent motivator. The Brontë Sisters faced an uncertain future, and they knew they couldn’t count on anyone but themselves. Watch and see. If you weren’t a fan of these sisters before, you’ll want to read their works by the end of the movie!

Enter to win a copy of MY novel!

The Valley of the Bees GoodReads giveaway ends Friday, March 31. Enter today to win a signed copy!

2 thoughts on “To Walk Invisible: The Brontë Sisters on PBS”

  1. Love this new look! I also loved the Brontes when I was growing up, but haven’t read any of their books again as an adult. I won’t be able to catch this show on TV, so I’ll try to watch it on my computer this weekend.

    1. Thanks for the feedback on the new look. I figured after 6 years, I was due for an update!

      I haven’t read the sisters since I was a teenager, either, but now I want to. I have a feeling I’ll understand their stories in a whole new way after seeing this movie. I hope you get a chance to see it!

Leave a Reply

