NaNoWriMo, Valley of the Bees

So, I’ve totally bombed #NaNoWriMo—but that’s okay!

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo this year, I hope you’re doing better than I am. With Thanksgiving only a couple of days away, and me at like 2,000 words, tops, I think it’s time to throw in the towel and admit this just isn’t my year. I’ve still been getting writing stuff done though, so I have no regrets. Well, maybe just a couple. But, that’s life, right?

Anyway, I have my full manuscript of Valley of the Bees with a professional proofer at the moment, and I’ve been working on page layout for the print edition of all three eBooks in one big book, which is scheduled to release in March. I printed out the front pages and the first several chapters to get an idea of how things look, and I was pleasantly surprised at how much it looks like—well—an actual BOOK!

The Valley of the Bees Omnibus print edition is shaping up quite well!
The Valley of the Bees Omnibus print edition is shaping up quite well!

I have done a pretty stellar job with page layout, if I do say so myself. I can’t wait to order my first real proof. Then, it will be real. Really real!

I’ve also been working on some marketing activities for Valley of the Bees this month. My sister was exclaiming over how my teenage niece had posted a short story on Wattpad that got over 300 views in just a couple of days, so I decided I’d check it out. I currently have about five chapters of With Envy Stung: Valley of the Bees #1 up on Wattpad for you to read for free, and I have plans to eventually put the entire book out there. So, if you’ve been wanting to read it but weren’t sure you were ready to take a chance on me, here’s your opportunity to check out the first book and see what you think before you buy!

Speaking of which, The Telling of the Bees releases December 1st and has been available for pre-order for some time now. I also just put the third and final book, Keeper of the Bees up for pre-order, with a scheduled release date of February 17, 2017. Kindle readers will get a Valentine’s Day sneak peek, however, just because I’m impatient to get stuff done, and KDP doesn’t allow you to set up a pre-order more than three months in advance.

Let’s see, what else has kept me from winning NaNoWriMo this year? Oh yeah, I know! To raise money for my holiday shopping, I recently started selling Avon, which is way easier and more fun than I ever thought it would be. We have some major sales coming up for the holidays (including free shipping + 20% off of your $45+ order on Thanksgiving Day and Black Friday,) so I’m going to give you a link to my website in case you’re interested in shopping with me. I’ll also apologize for the totally irrelevant sales plug, but my Avon sales are also helping me follow my writing dreams, so it’s at least peripherally relevant. Besides, if you can’t shamelessly promote yourself on your very own blog, then where can you do it?

I also just received my biggest eBook sales commission yet! It’s still under $5, so I hope you’ll forgive me for sticking with my civil service job and benefits for a while longer. However, it is very exciting to watch your income from your very own book sales increase, however incremental it may be. I think I can probably double those earnings with each book I release, so I guess I’d better finish up with Valley and get cracking on my next novel!

Now, it’s sharing time. I like to hear from my readers (all 3 – 5 of you) about how your own writing endeavors are going. Are you doing NaNoWriMo? If so, how’s it going? If not, what are you doing instead? Please share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “So, I’ve totally bombed #NaNoWriMo—but that’s okay!”

  1. You put me to shame, Amanda! Have you re-read your above post? I think you’ve accomplished quite a lot and you can always participate more fully in #NaNoWriMo another year. I don’t participate in #NaNoWriMo primarily for time reasons. I do a lot of freelance writing that cuts into writing time when I’m not at the part-time job. But I HAVE managed to complete a short story (after many revisions) that I entered into a contest earlier this month. Keep your fingers crossed for It! Cinda

  2. Nice post, Amanda.
    You may not have finished NaNoWriMo, but you have not been twiddling your thumbs, have you? I love NaNoWriMo and have won again this year – I love that one doesn’t just ‘do’ or ‘finish’ NaNoWriMo, but one ‘wins’ it. Love it. But, then, time is not a problem for me, since I’m an old retired lady with a family all grown up and married.
    As long as you keep writing, and keep enjoying it, Amanda, then you’re a winner too.

Leave a Reply

