Creative Nonfiction, Digital Marketing

Book release & #GIVEAWAY: As Good as a Feast     

As Good as a Feast is now available on Kindle and in print!
As Good as a Feast: Essays on Enough is now available on Kindle and in print!

I am pleased to announce the release of my latest project, As Good as a Feast: Essays on Enough, which is now available on Kindle and in print! To kick things off, I am hosting a couple of book giveaways that I hope you will all enter.

The first giveaway, which is going on right now, is through Amazon. You can enter here. Please feel free to share this giveaway with all of your reading and writing friends!

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. This giveaway started March 22, 2016 7:44 PM PDT and ends the earlier of March 29, 2016 11:59 PM PDT or when all prizes have been awarded.

The second giveaway will be through GoodReads, and I will announce that one officially when it becomes available.

I am currently accepting short stories and creative nonfiction essays for my next two anthology projects. For submission guidelines and additional information, please visit the Elderfly Press Submissions page.

Book Giveaways: A How-to

This is the first time that I have done giveaways of actual print edition books, so it has been a learning process. As always, I want to bring my writing readers along with me on this process and share a bit of what I am learning.

Setting up book giveaways on Amazon and GoodReads is extremely easy. The process is pretty self-explanatory for both. There are a few differences, however. First of all, my Amazon giveaway was live and ready to share within a day of setting it up. The GoodReads giveaway couldn’t be scheduled until at least seven days after the date that I set it up.

Another difference is the cost. With the Amazon giveaway, the book is ordered and shipped through Amazon. This means I have to pay Amazon for the full list price of the book, plus shipping and handling fees. With the GoodReads giveaway, I can order the books directly from my printer, at cost, and then pay shipping and handling at the post office when I mail them out. In the end, I think the GoodReads option will be much less expensive. However, it will also be a bit more legwork for me.

Have you hosted book giveaways to promote your work? If so, which platforms did you use, and which did you like best? Please share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Book release & #GIVEAWAY: As Good as a Feast     ”

Leave a Reply

