a corn country rendition of van Gogh’s Starry Night.
Illinois, Places to Write

Places to Write | Eli’s Coffee Shop; Tremont, Illinois

It’s been a while since I posted in my Places to Write series. I guess I just haven’t had much time for writing in new and interesting places since I got a “real job.” I finally have a new place to add.

I’ve been helping my sister put together a website for her small business. She has also started a new beauty blog as part of her website. Samantha had no previous website or blogging experience, so there has been a bit of a learning curve for her. We’ve been talking about the project for months without getting much work done, so we finally got the idea to get together at a coffee shop once a week (kids not invited!!) to work.

a corn country rendition of van Gogh’s Starry Night.
A corn country rendition of van Gogh’s Starry Night.

Now that she’s getting the hang of things, I can work on my stuff while she writes blog posts and asks content management questions as they come up. And we get to visit and chat while we’re at it. It’s a win-win situation!

Our homes are about forty-five minutes apart, so it made sense to meet somewhere in the middle. Unfortunately, halfway between us is basically a gigantic cornfield. (Have I mentioned that I moved to the greatest corn producing county in the state of Illinois?) Our only option was to choose something in one of the small towns along the Interstate in between us. There’s not much to choose from.

We first tried a coffee shop in Morton. It would have been okay, but the place was full of flies. Seriously? Yuck! The coffee and food was good, but it wasn’t much fun searching for a magazine or something that I could roll up and swat the flies away from my food and my work the whole time we were there.

I had also purchased an iced tea, which had a very foul taste to it once the ice started to melt. I suspect they used city water in their ice, which is apparently not a good idea in Central Illinois. Seriously, why is the water so disgusting here? It’s the same in the small town where I now live. The water isn’t palatable, even after several sifts through a Brita water pitcher. I finally gave up on drinking the water and just buy it by the gallon at the grocery store. But I digress.

Our first writing location was an obvious never-do-again, so we went in search of something better. Our current winner is Eli’s Coffee Shop in Tremont. It’s a little small for my liking, but the food and coffee (and water) are good, and it has a nice atmosphere. I especially love the mural of a corn country rendition of van Gogh’s Starry Night.

I see from their website that Eli’s also has a location in Morton, but it turns out that Tremont is a bit more convenient for both of us, so I think we’ll stick with it for now. But maybe we’ll try out the Morton location if we get bored with Tremont.

Are you ready to start NaNoWriMo tomorrow? Maybe you need a bit of inspiration? If so, today is the last day to download NaNoWriMo Gone Wild: The Quest for 50,000 Words on Kindle for FREE. Don’t miss out! Get it today!

2 thoughts on “Places to Write | Eli’s Coffee Shop; Tremont, Illinois”

  1. I’ve tried to write in coffee shops without much success. The conversations and people around me distract me — it’s far more interesting to people watch and eavesdrop. So, when I go to a coffee shop, it’s either to meet friends or research. I have a poet friend who always writes in a coffee shop in our neighborhood and he seems to be able to be quite productive. just shows: each writer needs to find his or her safe, comfortable writing place. Mine is at home! Cinda

    1. It really is a matter of personal preference, that’s for sure. The noise of a coffee shop is just white noise to me unless I’m purposely eavesdropping! On the other hand, I know a lot of writers who like to listen to music while they write, but it is a distraction for me.

Leave a Reply

