Domestic Violence, Uncategorized

When your summer paper-writing requires a trigger warning

This summer, I am taking an online course titled “Family Violence: Cross-Cultural Perspectives” as part of my coursework for a graduate certificate in Women and Gender Studies. So far, my homework has consisted of a great deal of reading and responding to questions about the readings. Thus, I haven’t really written anything that could easily be shared here. I have to start working on my final paper though, so that is about to change!

This course is a criminal justice course rather than my usual writing and/or literature courses, so I am trying to wrap my head around APA style again. I haven’t used APA since I finished business school in 2008! Luckily my professor has provided us with a couple of sample papers to help get us started. After reviewing these papers, I think I have a clear picture of where I want to go with my paper.

The nice thing about APA style is the fact that you are not only allowed to, but you are also expected to include headings to break up your paper. This is awesome because then you can easily break your paper up into sections and then just write a five-paragraph essay about each section. It has also occurred to me that I can use my literature review blog post format to organize each of my sources for the lit review section of my paper and share these here. Aren’t you lucky.

In addition to explaining to you what I’ve been up to lately while my blog has been silent, I would also like to use this post to warn you about what is coming in the next few weeks in case a trigger warning might be appropriate for the situation. You see, in my final paper, I would like to study the impact of spouse abuse on children and the resulting impact on society. I have not yet begun my research, but I assume that I may be discussing issues that can be difficult for any readers who may have experienced this type of situation first-hand.

In this paper, I will argue that spouse abuse of a parent is inherently child abuse even if the batterer does not physically abuse the child. I would like to demonstrate that this is a societal problem that deserves our attention and is not a private matter to be ignored. I hope to formulate a compelling argument that might be used to help further this cause.

Well, I have a lot of work to do in the next four weeks (it’s a six-week course!), so I’d better get cracking. What kind of projects are you up to this summer? Please share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

