I fancy myself a writer.

Instagram stories: Life on the prairie

I like Instagram, but I’ve found that I don’t particularly enjoy following people I actually know. I’m friends with most of them on Facebook, and many of them automatically share their Instagram photos to Facebook (including myself). It gets old, after a while, seeing all the same photos twice. I have considered unfollowing all the people I know on Instagram and following only complete strangers.

Central Illinois prairie.

My latest Instagram posts are photos from a long bike ride out on the Central Illinois prairie. The corn is just now cropping up, but before I know it, I’ll be riding my bike through green canyons of corn.

I especially like following people in foreign lands whose captions are always in some language I can’t read. One of my favorites is a Polish (I think) woman who posts interesting pictures of the city where she lives, the places she occasionally visits, and a cute little blond girl who I am assuming is her daughter. I like to make up stories about what they are doing. I can’t read her language, so who knows if my stories are anywhere near the truth. And honestly, who cares if they are?

thunderstorm coming across the prairie

Out on the prairie, you can see a thunderstorm coming from miles away. That is, until the corn gets taller than you are!

It just occurred to me that I don’t even know for sure that it’s a woman I’m following. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a picture of the photographer who owns this account. You see, I’ve even made up a story about the photographer’s gender.

sunshine on the prairie right before the rainstorm

This sunny bike ride turned wet fast, but that’s okay. Riding my bike in the rain is one of my favorite things ever.

I also follow a couple of themed Instagram accounts including catbookclub, subwaybookreview, and hotdudesreading (so sue me). In return, I try to post mostly interesting pictures on my own Instagram account and try to avoid posting pictures of my kids most of the time. I wonder what stories complete strangers will tell about my photos.

Leave a Reply

