Blogging

How to fall in love with a reader: Part Two

Anti-Stratfordian Mark Twain, wrote "Is S...
Yes, Mark Twain is still my celebrity crush, even after all these years! | Anti-Stratfordian Mark Twain, wrote “Is Shakespeare Dead?” shortly before his death in 1910. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As promised, here is part two of my how to fall in love with a reader Q&A series:

  1. What’s more important to you: the way a book is written, or what the book is about? I thought I had an answer, but I keep changing my mind. Of course, what the book is about is most important, BUT! But, what difference does it make if it’s written so poorly no one gets past the first few pages? Both are important. You need to have something to say, but you also need to present it in such a way that your reader perceives you as a credible source worth listening to.
  2. What author, living or dead, would you most like to have dinner with? Duh, Mark Twain!
  3. If you could hang out with a literary character for the day, who would it be? I’m not sure I would want to. Most literary characters are all about the drama, and I’ve had more than enough drama for one lifetime. I’d like to hang out with a nice, even-tempered, well-adjusted character who can be satisfied with reading books in bed, going out for coffee to chat about books, and taking long, silent hikes in the woods with no drama added. But a person like that would probably make for a boring book character. After all, there is no story without conflict!
  4. If you could be a literary character, who would it be? Daenerys Targaryen: “I’m not a politician. I’m a queen.” I know, I probably just totally negated everything I said in my response to the previous question. But if I have to be in the midst of a grand drama, I want to at least be a total badass.
  5. Have you ever written a fan letter to an author? Nope. But I have been thinking about emailing Margaret Atwood to ask her to write a sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale. I have an idea for her that I think would be awesome!
  6. Is there any book that, if I professed to love it, you would be turned off? Is there any book that would impress you in particular? Didn’t Snookie write a book? If you love that crap, I’m totally turned off. Also, my book club recently forced me to read 41, and several of them loved it. That kinda turned me off. Don’t they know propaganda when they read it? I’m hard to impress, so I’m not sure how to answer the second half of this question. These days, I’m often impressed that people read at all. Apparently most people don’t.
  7. Is there a book you feel embarrassed about liking? Not a particular book, but I sometimes like to read trashy romance novels.
  8. Are there books you feel proud of liking or having finished? Not really. I like what I like. What’s to be proud of?
  9. Have you ever lied about having read a book? I wouldn’t say I’ve lied.
  10. Do you keep track of the books you read? Yes, on GoodReads. It comes in handy often. For example, when I need to come up with a list of ten books I like and can’t think of even one off the top of my head. I have memory issues, so I have to document everything in order to function in life.
  11. How do you form opinions about what you read? I don’t know, do you want me to explain how cognition works?
  12. What authors do you think are overrated? Underrated? Overrated: Charles Dickens, Jane Austen. Underrated: Me

Stay tuned for part three of this Q&A series, which will come out sometime in the next few days. Want to join in on the fun? You can find the full list of questions here. Answer these on your own blog, and then feel free to come back here and share a link to your post.

Leave a Reply

