Blogging

Keeping tabs on my online activity

Coloreando en Amistad
This picture has nothing to do with tabs. Zemanta suggested it. I thought it was pretty. There you go. | Coloreando en Amistad (Photo credit: PatWH)

Author Charlotte Rains Dixon recently ran a blog post in which she listed all of the tabs she had open on her internet browser. I thought it was interesting to see what all she has open for research and such, so I thought I would do a “my tabs” post of my own. So, these are the tabs I have open in my browser at this time:

  • Gmail: self-explanatory, I think.
  • The My Tabs blog post that inspired this post.
  • Facebook: Always open. How about you?
  • YakTale: A writing acquaintance mentioned it yesterday, and I’m deciding if I want to submit some of my short stories to the site since no literary journal will ever publish any of my short stories. Or would it be better to publish them myself, as eBooks?
  • BookTrope: Because I’m thinking about applying to do editorial work with them but don’t know if I have the time, or if it will be worth the time. Anyone have any experience with this one?
  • Three different tabs for work. I won’t tell you the specific sites because I don’t want anyone stalking me at work. Not that you would, but— anyway, there’s our Banner website that I have to log into to get to the other sites I need, my work e-mail, and eCollege, which I use for teaching my classes.
  • WordPress dashboard: Because I am writing this post. And I usually keep it up all the time anyway, as I like to check in with my stats now and then.
  • Log-in page for my teenager’s school website. Not the school’s website, but the site parents and students access to check grades and homework. Because I have one of those teenagers who needs constant babysitting when it comes to his schoolwork.
  • NaNoWriMo: Because I am still playing around with my NaNoWriMo project and might yet add (or subtract, since I’m proofreading now) words from my total.

How about you? What’s in your tabs? Please share in the comments below. Especially if you have any useful writing resources I haven’t heard of yet.

~Amanda L. Webster

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Keeping tabs on my online activity”

  1. I am curious to find out what blog system you’re working with?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something
    more risk-free. Do you have any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

