Memoir, NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo: A final push for the finish line

Mandy Webster nanowrimo stats
This is my first NaNoWriMo attempt in which I have managed to get my word count above the daily goal and keep it there.

I was just sitting here looking at my NaNoWriMo stats, trying to figure out how many words I want to write over the next two days so I can finish by Thursday and have nothing to do for the rest of the week (unless I want something to do) aside from grading papers.

I only need about 6,000 more words. One thing I’ve learned this month is that 6,000 words in one day is totally doable, especially on a day when I have something to say. And when do I not have something to say?

Then it occurred to me: if 6,000 words is really no big deal, then why not just finish today? It’s only about noon now, I have no classes this afternoon, no papers to grade until after tomorrow afternoon’s class, and my kids don’t get home until after 3:00 p.m. Can I write 6,000 words in the next three hours and call it done? I’m about to find out!

What’s your word count goal for today? Please share in the comments below.

~Amanda L. Webster

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: A final push for the finish line”

Leave a Reply

