Facebook, Mount Mary College, Novel Writing

Are you ready to write a novel this season?

a stack of library books
Today’s library haul… who says fiction writing doesn’t require research?

I had a great time with the summer writing challenge and got to know several of you quite well in the process. I want to thank everyone one more time for participating. If you managed to write even just a few more pages than you would have otherwise, then I consider the challenge a success!

Since I am not ready to stop challenging myself, this morning, I changed the name of my Write Your Novel this Summer Facebook page to “Write Your Novel this Season.” I think it’s a good idea to keep cranking out new material even while you are working on revisions for your previous stories. What do you think?

What’s next? Well, I did a complete read-through of my “Bees to Honey” novel (this is not a title, just a descriptive phrase to keep track of which novel is which) and wrote a few new scenes. I have reached the point where I need to do a ton of research on a certain element of my story before I do too much more writing. So, I went to the library this morning and picked up a huge stack of source material. I have a LOT of reading ahead of me!

I also recently submitted a draft of Bees to Honey to a group of former classmates from my master’s level English/creative writing program at Mount Mary University. We are meeting on the 13th to workshop three of our WIPs, and will meet a second time in December to workshop three additional WIPs. So, I am letting my manuscript compost for a bit while I do some reading to prep for my next round of revisions. Having worked with several of the ladies in this group before, I know I will leave our workshop with tons of ideas for how to improve my story.

In the meantime, I have been thinking about what story I would like to write this season. Bees to Honey will eventually be a trilogy, or possibly a series. However, I want to get a bit further on my revisions to the first novel before beginning the next. So, I decided to work on something different this fall. After giving it some thought and discarding several ideas, I remembered a YA project I started a few semesters ago. It was one of those ideas that I had fallen in love with but didn’t have the time to pursue at the time. What better time than now?

This morning, I excavated my “F-ing Ferguson” file from the depths of my computer folders and gave it a quick once-over to see if I still loved the idea as much as I did a few semesters back. And I do! I already have a complete outline for this story, so step one is complete. Now I just need to review my calendar and plan out a writing schedule.

Since I am teaching this semester, I don’t have the time every day to sit down and write until I have completed a chapter like I did with my summer writing project. This could pose a challenge considering I seem to require momentum to complete a story. My best chance for actually finishing a first draft is to start writing and not stop until it is done. It will be interesting to see how this one plays out!

Want to join me in writing a novel this fall? Go check out and “like” my Facebook page to receive updates.

~Amanda L. Webster

Leave a Reply

