Employment

This is why I can’t find a job.

Feet in the forest
My feet feel right at home in the forest.

When I was a kid, I wanted to do everything when I grew up.  I wanted to be a writer, of course, but I also wanted to be an airplane pilot. And a race car driver. A Peace Corp volunteer, a detective, a horse jockey, and of course, a nun.

So now I’m (supposedly) an adult, I have finished graduate school, and writing jobs are hard to come by. I keep widening and broadening my search only to realize that I want to do a ton of really cool shit that I am completely unqualified for.

For example: why didn’t I go to school for forestry management? That job sounds awesome. I am so jealous of the people who get to manage the forest for a living. It is so unfair. I want to work full time in the middle of a national forest. I want to drive a bulldozer and plant trees. But I can’t because I didn’t go to school for that.

The whole job search thing has gotten so out of hand, I have even found myself looking at international job postings. I could possibly get a job managing a castle in England. But the pay kinda sucks, I have 2 kids, and I don’t know if they have food stamps there. *sigh*

Did you know the Wisconsin Department of Unemployment only requires people receiving unemployment benefits to apply for 4 jobs a week? Doesn’t that seem a little ridiculous? I mean really, I typically apply for more than that in one day. You kinda have to if you actually want a job.

Yesterday I applied to 4 different jobs in less than 10 minutes using the Indeed.com app on my phone. If you’re only applying to 4 positions a week, then you’re not even trying. Anyway, that’s my opinion. What do you think?

~Mandy Webster

I will send you a postcard from wherever I happen to be at the moment. Check out the details on Fiverr.

1 thought on “This is why I can’t find a job.”

Leave a Reply

