I fancy myself a writer.

Do you want to see some pretty pictures from my vacation?

Yeah, I know. No one really wants to look at pictures from someone else’s vacation. But I’ve been spending a lot of time complaining about my recent break from writing and wanted to assure you that it wasn’t all bad. Before I drove to Indiana for my non-existent new job, I went on a very nice vacation to the Dakotas. First we visited a very good friend of mine in Minot, ND and then we drove down to Rapid City, SD to see Mt. Rushmore and various other attractions in the area. Here are a few pictures for your enjoyment.

Here I am with my boys in front of Mount Rushmore.

Here I am with my boys in front of Mount Rushmore.

 

We rode the 1880 Train from Hill City to Keystone.

We rode the 1880 Train from Hill City to Keystone.

 

Fort Hays Chuck wagon show

We visited Fort Hays, where parts of the movie, Dances with Wolves was filmed. I enjoyed the chuck wagon meal, but the cowboy show wasn’t our thing.

 

Garden at the Alpine Slide

We had lunch in this garden on top of a mountain across from Mount Rushmore. You can reach the garden via a ski lift. We took the Alpine Slide back down.

 

Downtown Keystone

We took a stroll through downtown Keystone where we had some ice cream and bought more souvenirs than we really needed.

 

Bear Country USA

We saw bears “doing it” at Bear Country USA. Our car was also surrounded by a pack of arctic wolves.

 

My kids had a blast shooting zombies in Dinosaur Park, overlooking the Rapid City.

My kids had a blast shooting zombies in Dinosaur Park, overlooking Rapid City.

 

Badlands National Park

And finally, we drove through the Badlands Loop on our way back home to Wisconsin. You can’t just drive by the Badlands without taking the tour!

Any chance you’ll be taking a vacation this summer? If so, where are you going? Please share in the comments below.

~Mandy Webster

Leave a Reply

