Write Your Novel this Summer Challenge

There is no better day to start writing your novel than today.

Writing table of Marie-Antoinette by Riesener ...
It’s time to sit down at that desk and get some writing done! | Writing table of Marie-Antoinette by Riesener (1783), Petit appartement de la reine, Palace of Versailles. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

June 21st was the first day of summer and officially the first day of the Write Your Novel this Summer Challenge. I meant to do a big kickoff on the 21st, but as I mentioned in my last post, life kinda got in the way. I’ve spent the past few days since I returned from my disappointing journey unpacking and trying to put my life back together. I still have a bit of unpacking and organizing to do, but I have decided today is the day I need to get back to writing. If I don’t do it now, I’ll just keep putting it off, and summer will be over before I know it.

I doubt I’m the only person who got sidetracked and didn’t jump right into my novel on the first day of summer. I’m here to tell you it’s okay if you haven’t started yet. Just because you missed the first several days of the challenge, that doesn’t mean you now have to wait until next year. But you should force yourself to sit down and start as soon as possible. How does today work for you?

Whatever else you have going on, you can surely find an hour to work on your novel today. Stay up an hour later tonight if you have to. I have unpacking to do, but I’m letting it slide for now. Right now, writing is my priority. You, too, can make the executive decision to make writing a top priority. You have to, if you truly want to be a writer. That’s just the way it works.

As part of the summer writing challenge, we’re going to have a weekly check-in where participants may share what they’ve accomplished (or failed to accomplish) within the past week. I plan to post a weekly update on my blog to motivate myself to keep at it.

You can share your own progress in a variety of ways. If you have the time, you could also post a weekly update to your own blog and share a link with me here. If enough writers participate, I would like to share a weekly blog roll including links to all of your posts. If you do not have time, or maybe you don’t have a blog yet, then you could simply join us on our Facebook page and share your update there.

Writing goals are another item to consider when approaching the summer writing challenge. You might try setting either a daily or a weekly goal for yourself, and then make sure you stick to it. For example, my goal is to write one full chapter each day. Your goal might be to write for one full hour a day, or 5000 words per week. Your specific goals are up to you, but I think it’s important to have them.

What other considerations do you think you need to make to meet the goal of writing an entire first draft of your novel in one season? Please share your ideas in the comments below.

~Mandy Webster

P.S. I am still looking for writers who would like to be featured on Wannabe Writer Wednesdays. If you’re interested, all you have to do is contact me to let me know. I will send you a list of questions to answer, and then you will return your answers and a photo I can use on my blog. Hope to hear from you soon!

6 thoughts on “There is no better day to start writing your novel than today.”

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog Mandy – and good luck with the writing challenge. I’ve finished mine for now and am awaiting feedback, but there is always the sequel to start…

  2. Completely understandable that life comes first. Hope you’re settling in alright. 🙂

    I like the weekly check-ins. I’ve been writing full time since late last year but the check-ins that I’ve joined have been since this April. The consistency has helped keep me accountable in my writing goals. I started off big and have since taken it *slightly* easier so as not to burn out by Christmas!

    What days were you planning on doing check-ins?

    Looking forward to writing with you this summer,

    Tonette dela Luna

    1. My plan is to check in on Fridays, even though I don’t have much to update for this first week. Hopefully that will give me some incentive to get *something* done before the weekend!

Leave a Reply

