Random Rants

Are all writers slobs, or is it just me?

Clothes for poor people
Most of my regular clothes come from other people’s giveaway bags. They look very much like this. | Clothes for poor people (Photo credit: Maarten Utreg)

I can’t get dressed until after I’ve eaten. On mornings when I have to actually get dressed to go to work, I get up, shower, and put on fresh pajamas. I eat breakfast and have my coffee. I put my work clothes on about five minutes before I actually leave the house, so there’s no danger of spilling anything on myself.

When I buy clothes, I don’t buy clothes just to wear around the house. I can only justify the expense of new clothes when I’m buying them for work. My work clothes hang on one side of the closet. When a shirt gets too ratty for me to wear to work, I shift it to the other side of the closet into my regular wear wardrobe. I don’t eat while wearing my work clothes, ever.

What would I do if I found a regular day job where I have to be at work all day? Eventually I would have to eat. Do I bring an oversized shirt to put on over my work clothes to keep them clean when I go out to lunch? Do I bring a pair of sweats in a duffle bag and change into those at lunch time? What happens if I have to go out for a business lunch?

It’s probably a good thing I can’t find a “real” job. I don’t think I could handle the logistics. I will never be one of those people who walks around looking “put together.” I will always be that girl with the big stain on the front of her shirt and the holes in her jeans where she yanked too hard at the belt loops to squeeze into them.

I’ll never fit into the corporate world, and I’m okay with that. I like my writing life, even if I am always broke. I make enough to get by. As Laura Ingalls’ Ma always said, “Enough is as good as a feast.” I just need to learn how to eat without the feast falling down the front of my shirt.

~Mandy Webster

2 thoughts on “Are all writers slobs, or is it just me?”

  1. Hehe I can completely relate to this. I lived the corporate world for nearly ten years but I often think my lack of promotion was partly due to my inability to look anything than (I shall use the nicest term I can think of) ‘artistic’!! The beauty of having children is the fact that everyone assumes your dischevelled state is due to them (which it mostly is). The best part of being a writer is wearing tatty jeans and PJs much of the time…

  2. About a year ago, I went on an interview for a technical writing job on the 26th floor of the US Bank building in downtown Milwaukee, WI. At one point, the interviewer said, “Are you sure you think you would be a good fit for a corporate position?” I knew the interview was over right there, even though he forged ahead as if he was still interested in hiring me.

    I should have just said, “No, I am not going to be a good fit for your organization. But thanks anyway for inviting me up and allowing me to appreciate your amazing view of Lake Michigan!”

Leave a Reply

