I fancy myself a writer.

Do you spell-check your Facebook posts?

I know I’ve brought this up before, but I really wish people would spell-check their Facebook posts. I don’t know about you, but rotten spelling on Facebook has caused me to hide more than a few ignorant Facebook friends from my News Feed. Okay, so maybe you know that red squiggly line under half your words means you’ve misspelled them, and you’re just in too big a hurry to fix it at the moment. But do you realize what your momentary laziness says about you to your 437 “friends?”

Sample Facebook status update with misspelled words

Really, friend? Is that really how you think you spell “despise?”

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m just over-educated and your misspellings don’t bother your other friends as much as they bother me. But it’s not just the fact that you misspell words. Do you realize the way you misspell certain words says a lot about you too? I mean, come on! Do you really think that’s how you spell “despise?”

The sad fact is, people make judgments about you based on your status updates. Maybe you think that’s not important. But let me ask you this: What if one of your Facebook friends was thinking of telling you about a great new job at their company that they thought you’d be perfect for– Until they read that status update and decided referring you for the job might make them look ignorant too?

You never know what opportunities you may have already missed out on just because you can’t be bothered to edit your status updates before clicking “Post.”

Maybe Facebook needs to incorporate auto-correct like our supposed “smart” phones. At least then your mistakes would be funny, and we could all have a good laugh at your expense over at DamnYouAutoCorrect.com.

What’s your Facebook pet peeve? Please share your stories in the comments below.

3 responses

  1. I see the words, ‘a lot’ spelled as, ‘alot’ quite a bit. And there is totally a red squiggly line under that one! It seems as though almost everyone thinks it is one word. I wonder when that change happened in our language culture.

    January 18, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    • And how long until they change it in the dictionary?

      February 1, 2013 at 6:22 pm

  2. I understand the points that you have so eloquently pointed out, and I too agree that spell check would be nice to utilize when posting to facebook. However; my empirical observations have taught me that the anthropomorphic tendencies of most homosapiens revolve around critiquing the structure, and spelling in most sentences, instead of trying to understand the message the writer is tying to convey.

    November 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

