I fancy myself a writer.

Story mirrors life

Illustration for "Story of your Life"...

Does your writing reflect your real life? | Illustration for “Story of your Life”, by Hidenori Watanave for Hayakawa’s S-F Magazine. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This morning, I came across a cute plot skeleton graphic on Pinterest, and I couldn’t help comparing it to my novel and my own personal life story. It’s funny how every good story seems to follow this same organizational pattern. Luckily, my novel so far has all of the basic parts. As does my life!

I am currently working my way up to the “bleakest moment” of my novel and am finding it harder and harder to write as I draw ever closer to doing some horrible things to my protagonist. I think part of the problem is that some of the horrors I am about to put her through are drawn from certain incidents in my own life. As I am writing these scenes, I’m personally transported to a time in my life that I’d rather not relive.

A part of me wants to just put the past behind me and forget it ever existed. But, the past somehow always pops up in my writing. I suppose I should be happy that I’ve managed to live through the bleakest part of my own life. I got some help, learned some lessons, and made some major decisions that really turned my life around.

In many ways, I feel like I’ve reached a resolution. However, I think as long as I my heart still beats, there is probably always the potential for a new inciting incident that will launch another major change.

But back to my novel: That bleakest moment is near. It will be rough to write through, but I feel confident that once I get through it, the rest of the story will relatively easy. It’s hard to believe four months ago, I was just figuring out how to begin my novel. According to my calculations, once I get through the bleakest moment, I will be about 2/3 of the way done (with my rough draft, I’m not even thinking about revisions yet!)

When I look at my novel, and my life, I am amazed at how far I have come. I still have a long way to go, but I finally feel confident in my ability to not only finish the job, but to also do it well.

How does your current story reflect your personal story? Please share your experiences in the comments below.

~Mandy Webster

2 responses

  1. Hi Amanda, I am currently writing a memoir of my life in Mexico. And I would not say that the fiction I am working on reflects my story, but it does reflect my beliefs. I enjoyed your post. paz, Abby

    December 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

  2. Thank you for including one of my links.

    Morgen

    December 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

Leave a Reply

