I fancy myself a writer.

You gotta know when to walk away… and when to run

A pregnant woman

What do you do if your man thinks you're repulsive when you're pregnant? | A pregnant woman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday, I was listening to the Connie and Curtis morning show on my drive to school. It was Saturday, so of course the show was a replay… in other words, there was no way for me to call in and comment on the topic they were discussing. And of course, it was one of those topics I wanted so much to comment on. As usual, I decided to turn my response into a blog post instead.

Anyway, Connie and Curtis were discussing the plight of a woman whose husband had told her he didn’t want to have any more kids with her because she’s not attractive when she’s pregnant. And apparently, according to him, all of his friends thought she was repulsive as well. He sounds like a winner, right?

Let me just start by saying that my own EX-husband (emphasis on the EX) used to make similar remarks about me on a regular basis. So of course, my gut reaction was that she should leave him. This poor woman’s husband is showing his true colors. This is who he is. Either she accepts him as he is, or she doesn’t truly love him. As far as I can tell, she has two choices: love him as he is, or leave him in the past where he belongs. 

Marriage is never perfect. We all have flaws. I know I have my fair share. I wouldn’t recommend that anyone try to find the “perfect” person to spend his or her life with. The trick is to find someone who has flaws you can live with. And if he has flaws you can’t live with, you’ve got no business trying to make a life with him. You have to know when the time has come to walk away. In some cases, you shouldn’t walk, you should run.

If you stick with a man whose flaws make you miserable, you’ll likely make him equally miserable in an effort to “fix” him. The only thing to do is to accept him and love him for what he is (even if what he is, is an insensitive ass,) or move on. If you choose to stay and find yourself miserable with your life, you’ve got no one to blame but yourself.

What do you think? Please comment below.

Mandy Webster

Leave a Reply

