Book Reviews, Books --> Movies

Did you read The Hunger Games before you saw the movie?

Cover of "The Hunger Games"
Cover of The Hunger Games

I read The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins, about a year ago and loved it. But for some reason, I didn’t read the rest of the series right away. Before the movie came out, I thought it might be a good idea to finish up the book series. So, I went online to my public library and tried to put a copy of book #2 on hold.

By the way, good luck getting a copy of any of these three books from any public library right now. The books are reserved so far in advance, no library in our local consortium will have one available for the next several months.

I would buy the book, but my personal book collection has already far outgrown my tiny townhouse. I try not to buy books unless I absolutely have to, and even then, I am quick to give them away once I’ve read them.

I have a fear of turning into one of those book hoarders (like on the TV show, Hoarders,) who has books stacked to the ceilings with only a narrow walkway between the towers.

So I guess I’ll wait and try to at least read the next book in The Hunger Games series before the 2nd movie comes out. My 12-year-old hasn’t read any of the books yet and is itching to get his hands on a copy of the first book. He has The Hunger Games on hold at 3 different libraries right now, including his school library. I want to take him to see the movie, but I wonder if he will even bother with the book if he’s not able to read it first.

What do you think? Did you read The Hunger Games before you saw the movie? How do the two compare? If you were a 12-year-old boy, would you bother reading the book once you’ve seen the movie? Please comment below.

~Mandy Webster

2 thoughts on “Did you read The Hunger Games before you saw the movie?”

Leave a comment