Crafting and Hobbies

I crochet too

Green and Gold Green Bay Packer Blanket
This is the Green and Gold blanket I just finished crocheting for my Green Bay Packer-loving boyfriend. I seriously hope my boys don't want the same colors because I am sooooo tired of looking at green and gold!

My hands are getting pretty sore lately from the strain of actually being productive at writing and crocheting in the evenings while sitting on the couch watching TV with my kids or my boyfriend. Yes, I crochet too. For some reason, my hands must always be busy doing something, thus the carpal tunnel syndrome.

Anyway, I recently made several scarves for Christmas gifts and a couple of stockings for my BF’s kids’ cousins. A few days ago, I finished a huge green and gold blanket for my packer-loving BF. I’m using the leftover pink and purple yarn from the girls’ stockings to make myself a new set of hot pads, and then I promised my 5-year old I’d make “his blanket” next. And of course that means I’ll make one for my 12-year-old after that.

With any leftover yarn I have, I’ll make more scarves, hot pads, stockings, whatever. I’d like to make some hats, but so far haven’t found a pattern I like. I think knitted hats are far superior in quality and hold up better to stretching, but I’ve never been able to teach myself to knit for some reason. I mean, I kinda figured it out one time, but it just seemed to take for-ev-er to finish anything.

The past 2 years, I participated in a knit-a-thon at Mount Mary College. We made 8 x 8 inch knitted or crocheted squares that would later be sewed together to make blankets. The first year, the squares were donated to the Knit-a-Square organization that makes blankets for AIDS orphans. This year the group decided to donate the blankets to local women’s organizations. Anyway, last year I attended the official knit-a-thon (couldn’t make it this year, so I just dropped off a big bag of squares I’d made,) and it amazed me how much faster I could knock out a crocheted square than the others could knit theirs.

So yeah, I’m not real keen on getting into knitting. BUT, this past Christmas a couple of my nieces got these cool little circular knitting loom thingies that I am just dying to try. So, that’s next on my list of things to do/make.

I like to keep a lot of my little craft items on hand because you never know when you might need a quick, yet thoughtful gift for someone. Besides, it’s never to early to start working on next Christmas. And if I ever get caught up, I’d also like to have enough extras to try to sell someday just in case I never earn a living writing (just kidding, that’s not even an option at this point. But it would be nice to earn a little spending cash off my hobby.)

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Mandy

6 thoughts on “I crochet too”

  1. Incidentally, I just got back from Wal-mart (only place in my town that sells reasonably priced yarn) with my 5-year-old… he picked camo colors for his new blanket. What a relief!

  2. Thanks for the link to my blog, http://www.heypaw.wordpress.com! Love your blanket, the stitches look very nice. I learned to knit using the German way, or Continental method. It’s much easier than the American way, which looks tedious and like to many motions. I can’t crochet with any speed, so knitting is more suited to my, um, lack of patience. Although, I think I am going to try knitting a scarf, but crochet the flowers I want to put on it. I think the crochet flowers are much prettier. Thanks again!

    1. Thanks for the tip, I’ll have to see if I can find some followable instructions on knitting the german way. I’m always up for a challenge!

  3. You’re welcome. You tube is where I have been going also. Some videos are really good, while others are just ad’s. When my Mom and Ana aren’t around to help me, you tube is my go to.

Leave a Reply

