Poetry, Poetry by Mandy Webster

Pondering a lost sock on Poetry Friday

Baby socks 2

I’ll be out of the office this Poetry Friday, so I’m scheduling my weekly post a few days in advance. I’m keeping it short and sweet this week and am sharing an original poem:

Lost Sock

Here lies a sock some kid kicked off.
Imagine when she lost this sock –
In jogging stroller seat she rode,
bouncing feet while mommy strode.

White sock, now dingy, flecked with mud –
“Pick it up?” I ask myself
or leave it lie in case someone
wants it, comes looking, finds it gone?

Poor sock, it’s prob’ly long forgotten,
quickly replaced by another,
just one of a multitude,
tiny socks, tumbled in drawers…

Will no one notice one is gone?

By Amanda L. Webster

Poetry Friday is brought to you this week by My Juicy Little Universe.

3 thoughts on “Pondering a lost sock on Poetry Friday”

Leave a Reply

