Poetry, Poetry by Mandy Webster

Revisions for Poetry Friday

A Picture of a eBook
Image via Wikipedia

Every good writer, poet or not, knows that good writers spend the majority of their time on revising and editing. Some experts say it’s 20% writing/80% revising, while others go so far as to spend 90% of their work time in revisions. For this week’s Poetry Friday (sponsored by Tabatha Yeatts: The Opposite of Indifference,) I decided to share a revised version of a poem I wrote a few weeks ago for my poetry class. 

Time

Oh time, it flits so fast, except
when someone waits outside for you,
someone watching, yearning, missing,
and you can’t wait to see him too.

All day, I wait and watch the clock,
and time it slugs, so slow, so still.
Tick-tock, the clock, it tocks and tocks,
when time is something to be killed.

But time, together, drifts so sweet,
not fast, nor slow, nowhere to go,
but in his arms, the time, it stops,
though hours will pass before I know.

-By Amanda L. Webster

I’ve written quite a bit of poetry this semester, and some I think is actually good. I’m an impatient person, so I’m thinking of putting all of my poems together in a collection and self-publishing through Amazon. What do you think? Would you pay $1 to download a copy of my eBook? Just a thought.

~Mandy

7 thoughts on “Revisions for Poetry Friday”

  1. Hi, just wanted to stop by to say thanks for referencing my post in your blog. I really appreciate it! Also, it’s great that you write poetry. It’s so hard to write about time! The poem you have posted here is a lovely draft 🙂

  2. I’m thinking about going the same route—self-publishing an e-collection—but I’m not quite to the point of being ready, since I’ve got such a large quantity to choose from (I’ve posted over a hundred poems to my blog already) and I’m a poor enough self-critic to not be able to tell which are and which aren’t publication-ready. (Thus my “Poetry Archive” posts, one of which is listed as a “Related Article” above.)

    $1 is so low a price that I might well pay that much for a poetry collection, depending on how substantial it is and whether I expect to like it. (That second point would be addressed by reading the free excerpts a platform like Amazon provides, or the poet’s blog, or some other sample.) At that price point, the more relevant question is whether I like the poet’s work enough to add yet another (e-)book to my to-read pile …

    1. Oh, I know… my to-read list is soooooo loooooong!

      My thinking is $1 (or possibly 99 cents, if I use my marketing sense) is just cheap enough that people would buy it thinking that even if they don’t get around to it, it’s only a dollar. I would hope that everyone who buys it would eventually get around to reading at least a poem or two, but in the end, they are only human. And even if no one ever reads it, I would at least, possibly, recoup the expense of putting the book together.

      Btw, I checked out your blog and am sharing your “Remembrance” poem with my poetry class this week. =)

      Thanks for the feedback!

  3. It’s a lovely poem about time, but more than that, it’s a wonderful love poem. I like the relaxed rhythm that takes us to the end; as your wrote, the words ‘drift’. Yes, I would pay to download.

Leave a Reply

