I fancy myself a writer.

Thinking about “Kickstarting” a new project

Writing

Image via Wikipedia

I am disgusted with my work today. Not the teaching, the teaching is going fine. But, my writing really sucks lately. Well, not even just lately, but for the past couple of years. I spend so much time just hacking it out, making just enough money to keep the bills paid, I don’t have any time to spare to write anything that I am truly passionate about. The bottom line is, I am unhappy with what I am doing lately, and it’s time to make a change.

I hate complainers. You want to know what crosses my mind when I hear people complain? “If you don’t like your life, do something to change it. Otherwise, shut the hell up about it because no one wants to hear it.”

It’s time I followed my own advice. I’ve been complaining about writing garbage how-to articles and bullshitting my way through sketchy business and finance articles that I sometimes feel barely qualified to write, in spite of having a masters degree in business management. But what have I done to get away from it? Nothing.

I am a hack. I write garbage on a daily basis. I have the beginnings of at least 10 different novels sitting in drawers and on hard drives, just waiting to be finished. I think about them all the time, but continue to neglect them because I don’t know how to make them pay the bills TODAY.

I’m done complaining now. It’s time to switch gears and instigate a change.

A Facebook friend recently mentioned a website, Kickstarter, that caught my attention. Kickstarter is a medium where creative-types can recruit patrons to fund their projects. What a novel idea.

Think of it this way: Imagine you’re a painter in the Renaissance, and a wealthy family sponsors your work. So what if you have to slap out a couple of portraits of the family members in between your real masterpieces? Someone is supporting you while you paint your heart out. Or in my case, so what if I occasionally have to name a character in my book after a patron, if it affords me the financial backing to write the book to begin with?

Anyway, this got me to thinking about how I could use the program to fund a project of my own. I really don’t even need a huge amount of money to get started. For $2500 ($3000 if you include the cost of the rewards I have to provide to my supporters,) I could easily discard my garbage work for two months and complete a raw manuscript. I am seriously considering this. I have so many ideas of how to run my project and really get my supporters involved and make them feel like they’re a part of the project.

I’m going to give this some thought in the coming days, scribbling down thoughts, bouncing ideas off the heads within my brain trust. Surely, I can manage to scrape together enough money to concentrate on one manuscript for 2 months, right? There’s no better time than right now. And it’s far better to act than to sit around complaining.

Leave a Reply

