Halloween, Holidays, Poetry by Mandy Webster

Hiding from the Creeps

This semester, I’ve been taking a course on writing poetry for children and young adults. I’ve never really thought of myself as much of a poet, but I thought it would be good to push myself out of my comfort zone and give it a shot.

Ghost

As it turns out, I’ve learned quite a bit about language and words that will probably help me in my other writing. I would recommend at least one poetry class for every aspiring author, poet or non.

And as long as I have to write a poem every week, I thought it might be fun to share my poems with you. So here’s a Halloween poem for you, inspired by my childhood fear of catching a glimpse of my own reflection in the window at night:

Hiding from the Creeps

I sneak into
my room
at night,
flip the switch.

I glance
left to right,
and back.

I have to avoid
my reflection
in the window.

It gives me the creeps.

I duck down,
scurry below the sill
for my bed
and safety
under covers.

I snuggle down,
head covered,
breathe deep.

I order my heart
to
slow
down…

There may be
Ghosts and Witches
outside
my window,
peering in,
hoping to catch a glimpse,

But if I can’t see me,
neither can they.

~By Amanda L. Webster

Got a spooky poem of your own? Share it in the comments below! I’ll do a Halloween poetry round-up at the end of the month to highlight the best. Please also leave a link to your own writing blog or website if you have one so I can let my readers know where to find you if they enjoy your work!

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Hiding from the Creeps”

Leave a Reply

