I fancy myself a writer.

I write what I read

let's pretend this never happened by jenny lawson

This is me taking a break from reading at the beach.

Do you ever find yourself urged to write in the same genre you happen to be reading at the moment? I got the idea for my current WIP while reading a fantasy novel. Since then, I have been on a quest to devour every novel I can find that is even remotely related to what I am writing in an effort to keep the writing pump primed.

If I stray too far beyond the sphere of what I am writing, it throws me off. For example, if I take a break to read some poetry, I find myself writing poetry instead of novel scenes. Now that I’m reading a memoir, guess what? I’ve decided to write a memoir.

The Bloggess, otherwise known as Jenny Lawson, writes one of the funniest blogs I have ever read in my entire life. I can always count on her to make me laugh out loud, literally, when I’m feeling my worst. For example, this post here. I didn’t just LOL. I totally snorted. Read it, I dare you.

Anyway, I finally picked up Lawson’s memoir, “Let’s Pretend this Never Happened” because I’ve been utterly depressed lately, and her blog alone was just not doing it for me this time. I have been giggling for two days. Laughter may not cure what ails you, but it can be as good as Xanax when it comes to making you forget what ails you if even for a few moments.

While reading about the Bloggess’ totally F’ed up life, I thought about how F’ed up my own life has been at times and wondered if anyone would care to read about it. This morning, one of my many F’ed up stories crossed my mind, and I decided to sit down and write about it rather than just thinking about it like I normally would.

I sat down with my notebook and wrote that story down. Then another story came to mind, so I immediately wrote that one down too. Next thing I knew, I had filled 19 pages in my notebook.

“I should totally write a memoir,” I thought as I closed my notebook.

My summer may have just turned into a race between my novel and my memoir to see which one I can complete by the end of the season (wouldn’t it be cool if I managed to finish both?!)

Have you ever considered writing a memoir? Do you think anyone will want to read about my life when I’m a big fat nobody? What do you think?

~Mandy Webster

A quick aside: For some reason, WordPress is marking a lot of your non-spam comments as spam. I am digging through my spam folders trying to identify your legitimate comments and get them approved ASAP, but I am a bit behind. At any rate, if you have noticed that your comments are disappearing, please let me know, and I will go look for them (and will try to catch up on responding to your comments ASAP as well.) Darn spammers ruin things for everyone!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Can you do it? | jean's writing

  2. Pingback: Character building: I just got a BRILLIANT idea (I think) | Write on the World

  3. Hi! I came across this page web page on Facebook. I am posting to find
    what theme you are using on this page, I would love to have the theme that you are using so I can use it
    on my site (free netflix accounts).

    Thanks!

    May 8, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers