I fancy myself a writer.

Check out Fiverr for buying and selling writing services

I will tell you how to drive readers to your blog for just $5.

Check out my first gig on Fiverr.

A reader (thanks, Tonette!) recently suggested I check out a website called Fiverr to see if I can find someone to design a book cover for a collection of poems I would like to self-publish. While I haven’t yet found someone to design my book cover, it did occur to me that maybe I should post a few gigs of my own on Fiverr.

My first idea was to offer novel critiques to fellow writers looking to polish their novels before self-publishing. (I also borrowed this idea from another reader.) I posted a gig for this, but after getting to know the website a bit better, I do not think this is quite the right format for advertising this particular service.

The problem is, to critique an entire novel manuscript, I would need to be paid $5 per page (I could do $3 or $4 per page if not for the fact that Fiverr keeps $1 for each $5 you earn through their site) rather than per the entire gig. I originally thought I could charge one gig per page, but it looks like Fiverr is set up to restrict such options.

I will probably end up removing this particular gig, but perhaps I will set up a PayPal button on my website to sell my services there. The hard part will be getting people to the site (yay, marketing!) Anyway, if you are looking for someone to critique the second draft of your novel manuscript, please contact me for more info. I will accept payment through PayPal, and we can hammer out the details on our own without getting another middle person involved.

In addition to offering my critique services, I also posted a gig in which I offer to tell you how to get more readers to your blog for $5. I think this particular service is better suited to the Fiverr format. It will be interesting to see if I get any results on this one. I’ll keep you posted in case you’re interested in offering your own writing services through this site.

Have you had any experience with Fiverr or similar websites? Please share your experiences in the comments below.

~Mandy Webster

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Check out Fiverr for buying and selling writing services | Bitcoin Mining Review

  2. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you are even
    remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

    July 14, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • I actually have a couple of ebooks in progress that I plan to finish *someday.* I also have some short stories and a poetry collection that I am planning to self-publish if none of the publications they are with at the moment decide to publish them.

      July 15, 2013 at 8:35 am

  3. Pingback: I <3 Fiverr.com | Everyone Has A Story...

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers