I fancy myself a writer.

4 Tips for writing a “Pinworthy” DIY blog post

My latest DIY Pinterest project: Crocheted Handbag by Mandy Webster

This is my latest DIY project: a crocheted handbag recreated from a picture I found on Pinterest.

Has this ever happened to you? You find an interesting recipe or craft project on Pinterest that you want to check out only to click through and find the blog post is missing one or more essential elements required for you to actually be able to bake the goody or make the craft yourself. Or maybe everything is there, but it’s so disorganized, you immediately give up figuring it out and move on. You return to Pinterest without repinning the post. And that blogger just lost an excellent opportunity to see her blog post “go viral.”

If you’re like me, it probably only takes you a few seconds to look over a blog post and decide if you want to repin it. A few minutes ago, I found a blog post on making a “relax bottle” (aka “mind jar“) for counting down a child’s timeout minutes. I love the idea, the pictures are great… but I got to the blog post and couldn’t immediately figure out if the bottles are made using supplies I might already have on hand. And, where are the instructions? There are tons of great pictures, but the how-to part is all over the place. I still wanted to do this project, but I had to go look elsewhere for better instructions.

You don’t want this to happen to your next DIY blog post. So, here are my top 4 tips for writing an instructional blog post that will not disappoint your Pinterest followers:

  1. Include a list of ingredients or required supplies: Put it in list format (bullet points are great!) and include a heading identifying the list. The heading should specifically say, “Ingredients” for a recipe, or “Supplies” for a craft project. Do not skip this step. Whenever I consider embarking on a DIY project, one of the deciding factors is usually whether or not I have the supplies on hand or if I’m going to have to make a trip to the store. I only hit the grocery store about once a month, so this is a big deal for me. And I bet I’m not alone.
  2. Include step-by-step instructions: If you’re sharing a borrowed recipe or craft instructions, then by all means, link to the original source. But you should also include instructions on your blog post to save your readers from having to click through to another blog to find what they’re looking for. You don’t want your readers to have to leave your blog right away anyway, right? I recommend that you number your instructions, just like I’ve numbered my four tips here, so they stand out from the rest of your text. You want your reader to be able to scan the blog post and immediately find the instructions without having to search for them.
  3. Include links to where readers can purchase supplies, especially if some of those supplies may be difficult to find. These links also help when there may be confusion as to the exact product you’re using. (i.e. washing soda as opposed to baking soda when making homemade laundry detergent.)
  4. Include a pinworthy image that will make your blog readers want to Pin your post. After all, it’s the pictures that get pinned, not the instructions. A pinworthy image can sometimes be enough to get your post repinned without the pinner ever leaving Pinterest.

Pinterest is an internet marketer’s dream. If you follow these steps when blogging about your favorite recipe or DIY project, you’re sure to get a ton of pins (and repins.) So blog away, and don’t forget to Pin your own posts!

Do you have any recommendations to add to my list above? If so, please comment below.

~Mandy Webster

22 responses

  1. This diy stuff is great but I am just getting started – there is so much to learn and so little time. I bought a diy deck of 25 ideas but it really only showed me most of the stuff that you can find online in the first 10 minutes of your google search…

    May 12, 2012 at 11:57 am

  2. Thanks for finding us! You have a great post here, good information for beginning bloggers to be aware of!

    Another great tip, there’s lots of times when you’re on pinterest and see some fantastic picture and the pinner has headlined it “DIY junglegym” or something …. You’re first thought is, “Awesome! Let’s see how it’s made.”

    You click on it only to receive a 404 Pinterest error and utter disappointment that the page couldn’t be found MEANING the original pinner likely did not pin it correctly and all hope is lost for your future DIY Junglegym. Right? Wrong.

    Go to google, click on images and you can literally “drag” the image from your pinterest page onto the google search area and it will track the original website for the image. It’s a pretty awesome trick. Certainly, you’ll occasionally run into faults because the pin was a spam page, but it’s surprisingly accurate. Personal success rate is probably around 95%.

    Thanks again for the mention on your post!

    May 14, 2012 at 9:08 am

    • Wow, that IS a great tip! I didn’t know you could do that. Thanks for the info!

      May 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

      • Sure thing! Stop by and see us again, we’ll do the same!

        May 14, 2012 at 9:12 am

  3. Hey MHL, do you mind if I reshare that info in another blog post I’m writing on how to properly share images on Pinterest? Thanks!

    May 14, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    • Sure thing! If you could just give us a mention we’d certainly appreciate it!

      May 14, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      • Absolutely! The post I’m working on will be scheduled to run this Thursday if you want to check it out then. Thanks!

        May 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      • Also, is there a specific person I should attribute my quote to? i.e., “Jane at My Home Life Magazine says, blah, blah, blah.” Or, should I just say something like, “My Home Life Magazine says…”

        I’m a former editor-in-chief of my college newspaper, so I have to make sure I attribute my quotes right! ;)

        May 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      • Haha, way to go! Leigh Ann will work just lovely!

        May 15, 2012 at 8:05 am

      • Thanks!

        May 15, 2012 at 9:24 am

  4. Pinterest is still so new to me, that just learning to navigate it has been a learning curve. Ok Ok I am not the hap rest knife in the image drawer…I do have some recipes I want to share, so you have inspired me to think a little more on the how toe of getting info out

    May 14, 2012 at 5:55 pm

  5. Some great tips and I don’t even use pinterest. I’ve had enough on my plate to go there. Being organized in instructions or thought makes written material flow and that’s where you get your inspiration! Thanks!

    Sue Bock

    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

    May 14, 2012 at 11:29 pm

  6. ImogenRagone

    Great advice, Mandy. I think having things in list form – bullets, or numbered order – is definitely the way to go for any sort of instructional post. You absolutely want to make things simple for your readers. Really this is good advice for any blog post or web page.

    May 15, 2012 at 9:57 am

  7. cherylmcdonaldcreative

    Very good advice Mandy, I have had the experience of going to a site and getting disappointed about the disorganization or lack of info for a project.

    May 15, 2012 at 11:37 am

  8. I’m new to Pnterest and I appreciate the reminder to pin my own posts. You said only the pictures get pinned. Since I’m all about pictures, I always have a picture in my posts. My question is this – when I pin the picture and someone clicks on it, do they link back to the blog or to the url associated with the picture?

    Thanks for the great tips!

    Susan Berland

    May 15, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    • Yes, whatever web page you happen to be on at the moment when you pin the image, is where the reader will be directed when they click through the picture on Pinterest. This is a great marketing tool, as you can pin images from your own blog posts and drive traffic to your site from Pinterest!

      May 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  9. JudyStoneGoldman

    I haven’t ventured into Pinterest yet and have made a conscious decision to stay away for now–don’t want another on-line activity! But your suggestions for instructional blogs are useful beyond Pinterest–making things simple, and providing step-by-step instructions…very important!

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer

    http://www.therefletivewriter.com

    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

    May 15, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  10. JulieanneCase

    I haven’t gotten into Pinterest yet. I use my art for pictures but I might consider it for recipe blog posts since I usually use pictures of the dishes I make. Thanks for the tips.

    Julieanne Case
    Always from the heart!

    Reconnecting you to your Original Blueprint, Your Essence, Your Joy| Healing you from the Inside Out |Reconnective Healing | The Reconnection| Reconnective Art |

    http://thereconnectivehighway.com

    May 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm

  11. Pinterest is an evil, evil place, and I love it. I have so many projects I want to try and not nearly enough time. Great suggestions, as you are so correct… I hate when I find a great project idea in a photo, only to find that it links off to nothing that can help me find or recreate the item. I know there is concern regarding content not linking back correctly, and all sorts of copyright issues therein. I use it for personal use, but haven’t really gotten into using it for business purposes because the laws are so gray area right now.

    May 17, 2012 at 1:48 am

  12. Pingback: Proper Pinning: How not to irritate your followers on Pinterest « Write on the World

  13. Pingback: What You Must Do for More Powerful Blog Posts | News Initiatives' IM Journalist

  14. Pingback: 10 Day Writing Blogger Challenge: Day 5 | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers